Orlando, Fla.—If you are the parent of a teen aged kid who is eager to start driving, you may feel tempted with the idea of having some help around, and release the heavy weight responsibility of being your household’s taxi driver. Florida’s Graduate Driver Licensing (GDL) laws are designed to help teens gradually and safely build their skills and experience behind the wheel. It is important for teens and their parents to understand these laws and obey them.
In our state, young drivers are allowed to get their legal permits do so when they are at least 16 years old. In preparation for that, they must obtain what is called the “learner’s license” and keep it for at least one year, or become 18 years old.
In order to obtain the learner’s license, when the new driver is younger than 18 years old, he or she must have a signed/notarized Parental Consent Form. They must also carry proof of Traffic and Substance Abuse Education course completion, provide documents required as proof of identity, proof of social security number and proof of residential address. They must also pass a vision and hearing test and pass a Class E knowledge exam.
This is an exam that consists of fifty multiple-choice questions about traffic laws and signs. The passing score is 80 percent or 40 out of 50 questions answered correctly.
There are three ways that this test can be taken and the applicant must select the one that meets his-or-her needs.
The first way is to obviously take the Class E knowledge exam in person at a local driver license and motor vehicle service centers, Bureau for Administrative Reviews, Florida Highway Patrol stations, Clerk of the Court offices and motorist services regional offices.
There is also an Online/Classroom option, which can be chosen by an applicant that is un the age of 18. It is administered by third party approved service providers, and a notarized Parent Proctoring Form is required. It can also be signed in front of a driver license examiner. After passing it, the information will become available at all driver license offices.
The third, and last one, is the Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program (DELAP) which is channeled through participating public or private High Schools. High School students can also take next part which is the Class E Knowledge Exam. When approved, the school just sends the results directly to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.
As we know, In the state of Florida, drivers are required to carry auto insurance in order to drive legally, and this include teen aged drivers.
The minimum coverage in the state is:
$10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
$10,000 Property Damage Liability (PDL)
As parents, you have the option to add the new driver in the family in your current car insurance policy package, and remember this will not happen automatically.
The following are a few tips to save some money on the addition of your teen driver offered by many insurance companies:
Good Student Discount: Most insurance companies offer a discount to student drivers with good grades, typically a “B” average. Students with good grades are viewed as more responsible, and therefore as less of a risk on the road.
Multi-Car Discount: You can save money for insuring multiple cars with the same insurance company.
Safe Driving Discount: If the young driver has not gotten any traffic tickets or have been involved in car accidents, most insurance companies will offer a discount of 10% or more.
Additional Driver Training: Taking an additional driver safety course may help you qualify for lower insurance rates.