Orlando, Fla.—In recent days more and more people are experiencing hard times with law enforcement due to some actions which had been adopted as common practices, and the law is now being enforced. A typical example is the clear cover that many people place on top of their vehicle’s license plate in order to protect it from the weather or any other vandalism, or damage.
Although it is an innocent practice, it is unlawful, and as we all know, not being aware of the law does not exclude you from its enforcement.
So now you know!
According to the 2020 Florida Legal Statutes, in its chapter 320, section 320.06 about motor vehicles and licenses the alteration of motor vehicle registration certificates, license plates, temporary license plates, mobile home stickers or validation stickers is unlawful. It is also illegal to obscure license plates and it is all subject to penalty.
License plates should not be changes, whether by mutilation, alteration, defacement or change of color or in any other manner.
A person may not apply or attach:
- any substance
- reflective matter
- illuminated device
- covering or other material
onto or around any license plate which interferes with the legibility, angular visibility, or detectability of any feature or detail on the license plate, or interferes with the legibility to record any feature or detail on the license plate.
When law enforcement detects a vehicle under the above mentioned circumstances, the responsible person is considered to have committed a noncriminal traffic infraction, punishable as a moving violation.
You must also remember that, if you are driving a vehicle in Florida, you must adhere to state laws regarding minimum auto insurance. This protects you and other parties in case you are in an accident. The Department of Motor Vehicles requires you to show proof of your insurance in order to get your vehicle registered.
Penalties in Florida can be quite serious for failure to comply with auto insurance laws, so you don’t want to be caught without the proper coverage. And without sufficient insurance, your personal assets, like your home or business, can be in jeopardy if you are at fault in an accident and need to respond for the damages.
The minimum auto insurance you must carry by law in our state is $10,000 for personal injury protection, and another $10,000 for property damage liability. There are multiple other options to help protect yourself against loss during an accident.
Talk to our local experienced agents at Orlando Insurance Center, and let them know what your needs and priorities are.You will be presented with options from multiple insurance companies, and be able to compare rates as well as coverage to then determine your path to provide the best protection for you and your family. We can help you save in the purchase of insurance bundles! Give us a call today at (407) 680-1214— for an initial consultation and quotes from among 20 different insurance carriers who support us!
Gloria Rivera, 2-20 Agent